+  Cowboy Logic Press
|-+  Submissions
| |-+  Writer traps - Scams
| | |-+  Writing Contest Scams
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Writing Contest Scams  (Read 778 times)
Cowboy Logic
Trail Boss
Administrator
Cowboy Logic Legend
*

CLP Good Guy Points: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2033
Twitter: http://twitter.com/CowboyLogic
Linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/myprofile?trk=hb_side_pro


WWW
« on: October 30, 2008, 11:00:21 PM »

Team, if you have to pay up front in a contest, it is of no use to you, unless you can derive some personal satisfaction out of a proven venue where you pitch your stuff against others, and win a cut of the pot. There is a place for that kind of contest, but there are so many scams out there, that playing that game with a reliable outfit is a real slim chance.

The rule of thumb, is: "If they charge up front, they ain't your friend".

Please post your escapes here so others can learn from your steps.
Logged

"When all around are using common sense, fill the void. Use UNCOMMON sense." - Roger Haller
SirLawrence
Guest
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2008, 01:38:07 AM »

Agreed, you should never have to pay for a contest or a reading fee, unless it's cheap and there is a pot that is worthwhile.

Roger, great addition to the board... Maybe you should lengthen this section.  I mean, other than Absolute Water Cooler and Preditors & Editors, there really are not a lot of messageboards or small presses devoted to helping writers in this manner.  It could be a "positive" step for CLP.  You never know.  Look how big Absolute got in just a few years time, and how many members it has.

My addition is... Stay away from self-publisher X-LIBRIS.  I was scammed by them when I was younger.  If a publisher asks you to pay to have your book published, then it is nothing more than a ploy... or should I say a "mask" for a Vanity Press.

Lawrence Dagstine
Logged
Kevin
Cowboy Logic Press Authors
Cowboy Logic Renowned Author
*

CLP Good Guy Points: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2008, 02:48:11 AM »

Today I recieved the following e-mail. I can't be certain, but it shows the signs of a scam to me. This person wants too much information from people there is no relationship established with. I sent the site creator a notice to look into it, and I will remember the screen name for future reference.

VICKIE ANDERSON has sent you a message on ------

Hi everyone @ -------. I started a group, it is called 6dgr.
What this is, this is  a Social Site kind of like my space excepts it pays 3 levels deep.

There is a few of us that are already in this. If you will give me your url, I
rotate them. That way we all get sign-ups.

Once a person signs up, fills out there debit card information, AND PAY ME NOW.
You have to have a picture up, hook up your profile, and you are ready to start inviting others. Then I will put your url in to be rotated.

By the way, that is my daughter in the picture.

COME ON EVERYONE LETS MAKE SOME MONEY...........

Thank You,
Vickie Anderson
Logged

"“Zealots eagerly fasten their eyes on the differences between their creed and yours, but the charm of the study is in finding the agreements, the identities, in all the religions of men.”           
            Ralph Waldo Emmerson - Miscellanies
arlenerose
Cowboy Logic Press Authors
Cowboy Logic Writer
*

CLP Good Guy Points: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 111


« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2008, 11:45:30 AM »

Sounds like a Pyramid Scam to me!

Arlene
Logged

Arlene
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »